Cyngor Abertawe Swansea Council

City and County of Swansea

Notice of Meeting

You are invited to attend a Meeting of the

Standards Committee

At: Multi-Location Meeting - Gloucester Room, Guildhall / MS Teams

On: Friday, 7 October 2022

Time: 10.00 am

Chair: Jill Burgess

Membership:

Councillors: O G James, M B Lewis and L G Thomas

Co-opted Members: Michaela Jones, Mike Lewis, Janet Pardue-Wood and

Margaret Williams

Watch Online: https://bit.ly/3eNlEaR

Agenda P				
1	Apologies for Absence.			
2	Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests. www.swansea.gov.uk/disclosuresofinterests			
3	Minutes. To approve & sign the Minutes of the previous meeting(s) as a correct record.	1 - 3		
4	Member / Member Local Dispute Resolution Protocol.	4 - 9		
5	Protocol on Member / Officer Relations.	10 - 33		
6	Group Leader Duty.	34 - 37		
7	Public Services Ombudsman for Wales Annual Report and Accounts 2021/2022.	38 - 188		
8	Breach of Code of Conduct - Complaints made to the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales (PSOW).	189		
9	Workplan 2022-2023.	190		

Next Meeting: Friday, 20 January 2023 at 10.00 am

Huw Erans

Huw Evans Head of Democratic Services Friday, 30 September 2022

Contact: Democratic Services - (01792) 636923

Councillors Labour: 2

Oliver G James	Mike B Lewis
Oliver G Jailles	I MIKE D FEMI2

Councillors Liberal Democrat & Independent Group 1

Independent Members

Name	Term of Office	Name	Term of Office
Jill Burgess *	19.10.2012 to	Michaela Jones	01.10.2017 to
_	18.10.2018		30.09.2023
	Re-appointed to		
	18.10.2022		
Mike Lewis	01.10.2017 to	Janet Pardue-	24.05.2022 to
	30.09.2023	Wood	23.05.2028
Margaret Williams*	01.04.2015 to		
	31.03.2021		
	Re-appointed to		
	31.03.2025		

Community / Town Council Representative

Name	Term of Office
Vacancy	

NOTE:

- 1. * Denotes that the **period of office cannot be extended further**.
- 2. The **term of office for Independent Members** can be for not less than 4 nor more than 6 years. They can be reappointed for one further consecutive term but that term cannot be for more than 4 years.
- 3. **Members of the Local Authority/Community Town Councillors** who are members of the Standards Committee will have a term of office of no more than 4 years or ending at the next ordinary local government election following their election, whichever is the shorter.
- 4. The Standards Committee **shall not sit if the Independent Members are outnumbered by Councillors**. A Councillor shall remove him/herself from the meeting in order for the business to be transacted.
- 5. Only one Executive Member (except Leader) can sit on Standards Committee.

